H.E.R. @ KOKO

Remember Spotify’s “My 2017 Wrapped”? According to the streaming platform my top 5 streamed artists were: SZA, Kehlani, Frank Ocean, Bryson Tiller and… H.E.R.

If you browse through my blog you will notice that last year I was lucky enough to see them all live at least once. The only one missing was the mysterious Californian singer, H.E.R., so when she announced her European Tour I knew I couldn’t miss it for the world.

This girl has created an intriguing secrecy around her music persona, which from the moment she released her first EP, helped her create a strong following, also thanks to the support and social media promotion coming from artists such as Usher, Alicia Keys, and Bryson Tiller, who brought her on the American-leg of his tour.

But she is not only a successful marketing experiment. Indeed, behind the big glasses and elusive public appearances, there is a mad talented artist who has incredible vocals, writes her own songs, and can actually play instruments, which she all proved during yesterday’s show at KOKO in London.

Her ‘Volume 1’ is still my favorite project she released, but EP after EP she is proving to be a rising star in the R&B landscape and I am looking forward to the release of her debut album. During the night she even performed an unreleased song, possibly from her upcoming project.

The setlist featured a mix of her original songs and covers, including Rihanna’s Yeah I Said It, Ed Sheeran’s version of Make It Rain, and Drake’s Jungle, which she also recorded for her first EP:

Even though she didn’t sing one of my favorites, ‘My Song’, (and I told her when I met her after the show), the gig was incredible and I wish I could do it all over again.

Check her music and let me know if you like H.E.R.

Leave a comment